What do I have to keep in mind when I buy a bike?

It's best to buy a bike from a specialist dealer, because they offer good advice and service. But before you go there, you should think a little about what you want from your new bike. What do you plan to do with the bike and how great are your ususal distances?

Bike type

You will now find a bike for every purpose. That's why you have to think about exactly what you want from your bike. Do you just want to make short trips to the bakery, do you want to commute to work every day or do you want an energetic workout on the road or off-road? Do you want to sit very comfortably and upright or do you prefer a sportier riding position? How much do you want to spend on your bike? Answer these questions as precisely as possible and then go to a specialist shop for advice.

Saddle and handlebar height

The comfort of a bicycle is strongly determined by the distance between the handlebars and the saddle. It is the difference in height that determines whether you feel comfortable or not. During a test ride at your dealer's, try out whether you prefer a sporty position or would prefer to sit a little more comfortably but not as efficiently.

Field of use

Even within a category such as the mountainbike there are many different areas of use: for example, a road-going MTB with lights, mudguards and luggage rack, a racing hardtail and a full-suspension enduro bike for a fun ride, especially downhill. But there are also more and more bikes that combine several uses: the gravel bike, for example, is a mixture between a racing bike and a mountain bike. The trekking bike also feels at home on dirt, and the city bike, in a high-quality and lighter version, can also provide a lot of pleasure on long tours.

Share

Was this information useful?

Any questions? Simply use the form to send us a message and we’ll get back to you as soon as possible!

Worauf sollte ich beim Radkauf achten?

Fahrräder kauft man am besten beim Fachhändler, denn dort stimmen Beratung und Service. Doch bevor Du dort hingehst, solltest Du ein wenig über die Anforderungen an Dein neues Rad nachdenken. Was hast Du mit dem Rad vor und wie lang sind Deine Strecken?

Radtyp

Für jeden Einsatzzweck gibt es mittlerweile das richtige Rad. Deshalb musst Du Dir genau überlegen, was Du eigentlich von Deinem Rad erwartest. Sind es nur kurze Fahrten zum Bäcker, willst Du täglich zur Arbeit pendeln oder sportlich auf der Straße oder im Gelände unterwegs sein? Möchtest Du eher sehr komfortabel und aufrecht sitzen oder spricht Dich mehr eine sportlichere Sitzposition an? Wieviel möchtest Du für Dein Rad ausgeben? Beantworte diese Fragen so genau wie möglich und lasse Dich dann im Fachhandel beraten.

Sattel- und Lenkerhöhe

Der Komfort eines Fahrrads wird stark durch den Abstand von Lenker und Sattel bestimmt. Gerade der Höhenunterschied entscheidet über Wohlfühlen oder nicht. Probiere während einer Testfahrt bei Deinem Händler aus, ob Du eine sportliche Position bevorzugst oder lieber etwas komfortabler aber dafür nicht so effizient sitzen möchtest.

Einsatzbereich

Auch innerhalb einer Kategorie wie zum Beispiel "Mountainbike" gibt es viele unterschiedliche Einsatzbereiche: zum Beispiel straßentaugliches MTB mit Licht, Schutzblechen und Gepäckträger, renntaugliches Hardtail und vollgefederte Enduromaschine für den Fahrspaß vor allem bergab. Es gibt aber auch immer mehr Räder, die mehrere Einsatzzwecke kombinieren: das Gravelbike zum Beispiel ist eine Mischung zwischen Rennrad und Mountainbike. Das Trekkingrad fühlt sich auch auf Schotter wohl und das Citybike kann in einer hochwertigen und leichteren Version auch auf langen Touren viel Freude bereiten.

Teilen

Waren diese Infos hilfreich?

Noch Fragen? Dann sende uns eine Nachricht über das Formular und unser Experten-Team meldet sich so schnell wie möglich bei Dir!