Handlebars

The handlebars and their position determine the posture in which you sit on the bike. Basically, there are straight and curved handlebars, which are decisive for your upper body posture and grip position.

Straight Curved?

Curved handlebars are a better choice. The hands then rest on the grips in an anatomically natural position.

Straight handlebars only make sense on really racy bikes because the steering response is felt and influenced more directly.

The curve of the handlebars depends on your cycling style and body size.

The smaller the angle between the upper arm and the upper body, the greater the curve of the handlebars should be.

Ideal

The pressure on the grip is evenly distributed.

The forearm and hand are in line.

Nerves and blood vessels extend naturally.

Critical

Pressure peaks on the grip.

The wrist (nerves/vessels) is bent because the handlebar curve is too low. Excessive muscular strain on the arm and shoulder.

Handlebar width

Handlebars come in different widths. After all, people also come in different sizes. Just as with clothing, you should pay attention to the correct size for the handlebars - from XS to XXL, such as with the Ergo series from ergotec.

The basic rule: the handlebar width should be the same as the shoulder width. This is measured on the body from shoulder joint to shoulder joint and on the handlebars from the centre of the hand to the centre of the hand.

Angle of grip

The correct angle of grip for handlebars depends on various factors such as rider size, type of use and personal preferences. With many handlebar variants you will find different angles of grip. Of course, we also have an example for you:

The upper handlebars are the Ergo XXL 25,4 handlebars from ergotec. They are 650mm wide and have a back sweep of 16°. The lower handlebars are also Ergo 25,4 handlebars from ergotec, but in width S. They are 570mm wide and only have a back sweep of 8°.

Advice

As you can see, choosing the right handlebars is not easy. Always seek advice from a specialist dealer on this subject and, if possible, try out different types of handlebars before making a purchase.

Further components

Share

Was this information useful?

Any questions? Simply use the form to send us a message and we’ll get back to you as soon as possible!

Lenker

Ein Lenker und seine Position bestimmen, welche Haltung Du auf dem Fahrrad einnimmst. Grundsätzlich gibt es gerade und gebogene Lenker, die mit dafür entscheidend sind, wie deine Oberkörperhaltung und Griffposition ist.

Gerade? Gebogen?

Die bessere Wahl ist ein gebogener Lenker. Dann ruht die Hand in anatomisch natürlicher Position auf dem Griff.

Ein gerader Lenker macht nur bei explizit sportiven Rädern Sinn, weil das Lenkverhalten direkter empfunden und beeinflusst wird.

Die Lenkerbiegung hängt von Fahrstil und Körpergröße ab.

Je kleiner der Oberarm-Oberkörper-Winkel ist, desto größer sollte die Lenkerbiegung sein.

Ideal

Der Druck am Griff wird gleichmäßig verteilt.

Unterarm und Hand sind in einer Linie.

Nerven und Gefäße verlaufen ohne Abknickung.

Kritisch

Druckspitzen am Griff.

Das Handgelenk (Nerven/Gefäße) ist aufgrund der zu geringen Lenkerkröpfung abgeknickt. Hohe muskuläre Belastung an Arm und Schulter.

Lenkerbreite

Lenker sind verschieden breit. Denn Menschen sind verschieden groß. So, wie bei der Kleidung sollten Sie auch beim Lenker auf die richtige Konfektionsgröße achten – von XS bis XXL wie zum Beispiel bei der Ergo-Serie von ergotec.

Die Grundregel: Die Lenkerbreite sollte gleich der Schulterbreite sein. Diese wird am Körper von Schultergelenk zu Schultergelenk und am Lenker von Handmitte zu Handmitte gemessen.

Griffwinkel

Der richtige Griffwinkel eines Lenkers richtet sich nach verschiedenen Faktoren wie z.B. Fahrergröße, Einsatzbereich und persönliche Vorlieben. Bei vielen Lenkervarianten wirst du unterschiedliche Griffwinkel finden. Ein Beispiel dazu haben wir natürlich auch direkt für dich:

Bei dem oberen Lenker handelt es sich um den Ergo Bügel XXL 25,4 von ergotec. Dieser ist 650mm breit und verfügt über eine rückwärtige Kröpfung von 16°. Der untere Lenker ist ebenfalls ein Ergo Bügel 25,4 von ergotec, aber in der Breite S. Dieser ist 570mm breit und hat nur eine rückwärtige Kröpfung von 8°. 

Beratung

Wie du oben siehst, ist die Auswahl des richtigen Lenkers nicht einfach. Lass dich zu diesem Thema immer von einem Fachhändler beraten und probiere wenn möglich verschiedene Lenkertypen vor dem Kauf aus. 

Weitere Komponenten

Teilen

Waren diese Infos hilfreich?

Noch Fragen? Dann sende uns eine Nachricht über das Formular und unser Experten-Team meldet sich so schnell wie möglich bei Dir!