Efficiency through ergonomics

Ergonomics on the bicycle not only helps you to avoid or reduce pain, but also to pedal particularly efficiently. The aim is to use as little energy as possible to cover a distance. You can read about how this is done here.

Circular pedalling

First of all, there is so-called “circular pedalling" which, strictly speaking, doesn’t really exist. What is meant by this is that in the pedalling cycle you not only push down at the front, but also lift your leg slightly at the back or, in the case of clipless pedals, even pull on the pedal. However, this is not easy and is only mastered by cycling professionals. But your pedalling efficiency also increases with every ride, because the interaction between your muscles and your brain as a control organ is constantly improving. An optimal riding position plays an important part in this.

Muscle interplay

During every revolution of the pedals, the various muscle groups of the leg have to make a coordinated contribution to propelling the bike forward. That doesn't just happen automatically, but requires precise coordination. For example, the knee extensors should only work in the front part of the pedalling cycle, in the back they must be relaxed so that they don't interfere with the work of the flexors in the knee. If it sounds complicated, that's because it is. And very, because scientists suspect that the secret of highly successful cyclists lies in the perfect interaction of the muscles. Unfortunately, you can only improve this ability to a limited extent.

Cycling without discomfort

Ergonomics in the case of bicycles aims above all to make cycling more pain-free. To achieve this, the interaction of the muscles must also be perfectly coordinated. If, for example, the arm or back muscles have to do too much support work for their individual fitness level, they react with pain. These are simple muscle fatigue pains that can take the fun out of cycling. That's why it's so important to find a riding position that suits your own physical requirements and causes little or, even better, no discomfort.

Share

Was this information useful?

Any questions? Simply use the form to send us a message and we’ll get back to you as soon as possible!

Effizienz durch Ergonomie

Ergonomie am Fahrrad hilft nicht nur Schmerzen zu vermeiden bzw. zu vermindern, sondern auch besonders effizient zu pedalieren. Es gilt möglichst wenig Energie für eine Strecke zu verbrauchen. Wie das geht, liest Du hier.

Runder Tritt

Da wäre zunächst der sogenannte "Runde Tritt", den es streng genommen gar nicht gibt. Gemeint ist damit, dass man im Kurbelzyklus nicht nur vorne runter tritt sondern hinten das Bein leicht anhebt oder bei Klickpedalen sogar am Pedal zieht. Das ist jedoch nicht einfach und wird nur von Radprofis richtig beherrscht. Doch auch Deine Tritteffizienz nimmt mit jeder Tour zu, denn das Zusammenspiel von Muskulatur und Gehirn als Steuerorgan verbessert sich fortwährend. Dazu trägt eine optimale Sitzposition einen wichtigen Anteil bei.

Muskelspiel

Während einer Kurbelumdrehung müssen die verschiedenen Muskelgruppen des Beins koordiniert ihren Beitrag zum Vortrieb leisten. Das geht nicht einfach so, sondern nur exakt abgestimmt. Beispielsweise dürfen die Kniestrecker nur im vorderen Bereich des Pedalzyklus arbeiten, im hinteren müssen Sie entspannt sein, damit sie nicht die Arbeit der Beuger im Knie behindern. Das hört sich kompliziert an? Ist es auch. Und zwar sehr, denn Wissenschaftler vermuten im perfekten Zusammenspiel der Muskeln das Geheimnis von sehr erfolgreichen Radsportlern. Leider kann man diese Fähigkeit nur begrenzt verbessern.

Schmerzfreies Radfahren

Ergonomie am Fahrrad hat vor allem das Ziel, schmerzfreier zu radeln. Auch dazu muss das Zusammenspiel der Muskeln perfekt abgestimmt sein. Müssen beispielsweise die Arm- oder Rückenmuskeln für ihren individuellen Fitnesszustand zu viel Haltearbeit leisten, reagieren sie mit Schmerzen. Das sind einfache Muskelermüdungsschmerzen, die einem das Radfahren verleiden können. Deshalb ist es so wichtig, eine Sitzposition zu finden, die zu den eigenen körperlichen Voraussetzungen passt und wenig oder noch besser keine Beschwerden verursacht.

Teilen

Waren diese Infos hilfreich?

Noch Fragen? Dann sende uns eine Nachricht über das Formular und unser Experten-Team meldet sich so schnell wie möglich bei Dir!